No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls???

by scoolservicesfundraising

no yeast cinnamon rolls

Old Fashion Cinnamon Rolls / Call Me PMc

“Where have these been all my life?!”
and
“Why haven’t you ever made me these before?!”
These were the first words out of Big Daddy’s mouth
after her stopped eating long enough to breath and say something.
That was confirmation enough for me tha this recipe is a keeper!

Desserts have pretty much been my favorite thing to eat my whole life, in particular Cinnamon rolls. However, my mother didn’t make anything with yeast- no bread, no cinnamon rolls, no rolls. Therefore, every time we went ‘in to town’ I wanted to go by the bakery and get a Cinnamon roll. Isn’t it funny how you want/crave what you can’t have. I do make items with yeast. I make homemade bread weekly. My boys, like it, they love it, they don’t know that every Mom doesn’t make homemade bread. They don’t know that other kids don’t have hot homemade bread with melting butter for an after school snack.

So after (ahem) 29 years of eating Cinnamon Rolls every where I go, trying numberous recipes myself, I have become quite the Cinnamon Roll efficinado. The icing to bread ratio has to be, mmm, almost even for me. There are no pecans in Cinnamon Rolls! Lord help us all – there are no raisins in Cinnamon Rolls (bleck!) Cinnamon Rolls are 1. cinnamon 2. bread 3. icing, preferably cream cheese icing

With that ratio being stated, these Cinnamon Rolls are the exception to that ratio rule. Although my inspiration for these rolls didn’t have a glaze, I would use a glaze on them drizzled over the top. Other wise, they are not very sweet.

No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls
Ingredients
3 c all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 c shortening
1 c cold water
1 c butter, softened
3/4 c sugar
3 T cinnamon
Directions
In a small bowl, combine cinnamon and sugar. In a large bowl combine flour and salt. Cut in shortening until crumbly and resembles wet sand. Stir in water. Dump dough onto a floured surface. Seperate into 2 even portions. Roll each part, one at a time into a rectangle. Dough should be thin. Try to get it to be 13 x 9 inches or larger. It should be about 1/8 inch thick. Spread softened butter over rectangle; sprinkle cinnamon sugar evenly over butter. Pinch ends closed and place in a 8×11.5 inch pan seam side down. Repeat with second ball of dough. Bake at 350 degrees 40 to 45 minutes or until top of roll is golden.

Optional Glaze: Mix 2 c powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and 4 T milk and drizzle over top of Rolls

